PDA

View Full Version : Do you use a framework?

tsick
23-04-2010, 10:47 AM
Just interested to see what people are using..

If you use a framework, which one and why?

If you don't.. why not?

--

I use the symfony framework. Started using it a few years ago because it wasn't feasible to dev without a framework.

I chose symfony over Cake etc because of the superior community and documentation.

tuna
23-04-2010, 10:52 AM
please clarify are you talking

Front end dev
Back end dev

or something else really weird. ;)

tsick
23-04-2010, 11:05 AM
I'm talking about any application.

I use symfony for both frontend and backend applications

kay
23-04-2010, 11:18 AM
lol, tsick you're talking about server side as in php code. Tuna was asking if you mean a php/asp/cf/jsp framework or a javascript or css framework (i.e. client side).

I inherited one site that used symfony, but found someone else to take over. To me it seemed very much overcomplicated. But I'm not a PHP coder, I'm a CF coder, and yes I use a framework for that. For our PHP stuff we have our own framework inhouse, based on MVC but customised to the kinds of work we usually do.

tsick
23-04-2010, 11:36 AM
haha ok, thought that question was strange. We are in the PHP/MYSQL section though :)

I can see your point about it being complicated, it took me 2 months to fully conquer.

I used to have my own PHP framework aswell, however maintaining it (security, depracted functions in PHP5, legacy versions on 30+ sites etc) became a real problem and also it didn't scale out as well as I would've hoped when I started doing larger projects.

Mr C
23-04-2010, 11:37 AM
I've used it in the past (previous employment), and I have to say, I'm not a fan of it.

Most of the time I code OO php in an MVC style, and have a built up a library of classes to simplify the frequent common tasks.