Port80 Forums Ilisys Web Hosting Fast Hit Web Hosting

Our Platinum Sponsors:


Go Back   Port80 Forums > General > Chit Chat

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-09-2008, 04:38 PM
miles's Avatar
miles miles is offline
Administrator
AWIA Member Committee Site Admin
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mt Lawley, Western Australia
Posts: 1,347
miles has disabled reputation
Default I love flattery!

I love when I get told about yet another web company ripping our website off. Good work Green Skin Media for http://www.greenskinmedia.com/ and the similarities to http://www.bam.com.au

Oh, and don't forget to read http://www.milesburke.com.au/blog/20...ieves-part-ii/ about the first time someone stole our website, and http://www.milesburke.com.au/blog/20...igners-part-2/ about the second time.

Love those lazy buggers who think it is fine to steal.

</vent>

Cheers

Miles.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-09-2008, 04:48 PM
kay's Avatar
kay kay is offline
Senior Member
AWIA Member Site Admin
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 3,669
kay has disabled reputation
Default

it sucks hey. You'd think people would know better - especially when it's an Australian company.

I was alerted to a site claiming credit for three of our sites this morning. I'm not going to name and shame just yet but it's even more upsetting because this is a Perth business. And they're not returning my calls ROFL.
__________________
buy my monaro!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-09-2008, 05:15 PM
jadeia's Avatar
jadeia jadeia is offline
Senior Member
AWIA Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 147
jadeia is on a distinguished road
Default

Wow - didn't even bother to edit the copy text on the home page
__________________
Adam Guerin
Director, Nutwork
Web Design | Search Engine Optimisation | Online Marketing - Identity is Everything
Nutwork is the preferred website design company for Tourism Council WA
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-09-2008, 05:27 PM
Vee Vee is online now
Senior Member
AWIA Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Mandurah, WA
Posts: 424
Vee is on a distinguished road
Default

Wow, just wow. I was expecting a similar design but that is just crazy.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-09-2008, 06:08 PM
James Bull's Avatar
James Bull James Bull is offline
Senior Member
AWIA Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth
Posts: 135
James Bull is on a distinguished road
Default

Close copy, but you are still "miles" better.

Can you write it up as a news item on your site? "Our designs are so good that others copy them..."
__________________
James Bull Consulting

Last edited by James Bull; 04-09-2008 at 06:09 PM. Reason: Punctuation.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-09-2008, 06:55 PM
sarah's Avatar
sarah sarah is offline
Senior Member
AWIA Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Carnarvon
Posts: 169
sarah is on a distinguished road
Default

Maybe they're just being green and recycling your design and content for you Miles?
__________________
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/velvetsarah Weblog: http://www.velvet.id.au
Not a work of art or a showcase of my design skills, just a place for me to put my thoughts and get on my soapbox sometimes!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-09-2008, 06:58 PM
stinhambo stinhambo is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: The surface
Posts: 2,275
stinhambo is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

I've just alerted them of a company in WA that's totally ripped off their site!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-09-2008, 10:12 PM
kingaman kingaman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 89
kingaman is on a distinguished road
Default

Wow, that is quite remarkable really. What got me though was just how similar the both the HTML and CSS is!
Pretty big completement that they think your work is good enough to sell their design skills, but also very worrying that a so called web design firm doesn't have the creativity/effort to make their own site - it's not exactly a good way to sell your product. Should we take this to mean that they're the people to go if we want a rip off of someone else's website? - because I know a bunch of 13 year old who'd be happy to do that for way less than these guys would be charging!

I must say though, that they didn't do a terribly good job - basically everything that they didn't steal is crap.
I wonder if they paid for the stock photos, or even used legal software?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-09-2008, 10:29 PM
heist heist is offline
Senior Member
AWIA Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 573
heist is on a distinguished road
Default

http://www.greenskinmedia.com/green.html

... obviously they're just into recycling.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-09-2008, 10:49 PM
jexley's Avatar
jexley jexley is offline
AWIA Committee
AWIA Member Committee
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Perth-SOR
Posts: 914
jexley is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sarah View Post
Maybe they're just being green and recycling your design and content for you Miles?
HaHA! That's fkn classic.

Seriously though, ever get to thinking that it may be like cockroaches? You know, for every 1 you see scurrying off with your leftover Tim-Tam, there's 10 more in the walls, waiting for you to go to bed so they can make a sandwich and finish off your last beer.

For every one of these f*cknuckles, how many more are out there unconscionably stealing other people's work? Stealing YOUR work?
__________________
Jex AnalyticsGoogle Made Simple
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +8. The time now is 09:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.