Port80 Forums Ilisys Web Hosting Fast Hit Web Hosting

Our Platinum Sponsors:


Go Back   Port80 Forums > General > Chit Chat

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31  
Old 08-09-2008, 01:24 PM
cadmium's Avatar
cadmium cadmium is offline
AWIA Website Manager
AWIA Member Committee Site Admin
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Joondalup WA
Posts: 363
cadmium has disabled reputation
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nuthin View Post
Miles.. suprised you didn't find http://www.cmdmedia.co.uk/home.html ??

Laughing at that one indeed!
I especially like the Portfolio page...A lot of great, award-winning work coming out of CMD Media!

Stealing a design is one thing (bad) but taking the copy as well, that's just beyond belief. How can people ever think that's ok?
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 08-09-2008, 01:25 PM
tealou tealou is offline
Senior Member
AWIA Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Perth
Age: 34
Posts: 370
tealou is on a distinguished road
Default

LOL, that is way too funny. Well, not funny, because if it was me I wouldn't be laughing.

I have a love/hate relationship with the interwebs sometimes.

I was gobsmacked when I started the Masters in 2D & Digital Design at ECU (lasted a semester before getting too busy to continue)... the lecturer actively promoted lifting images from Google Images. I know that in an education setting kids shouldnt have to pay for stock, but seriously man... it teaches people that that sort of thing is acceptable. There was no disclaimers about the Copyright or anything.

Same with just lifting code etc. I understand that everyone starts somewhere, but this is a POST GRAD setting, with many people who don't have "real world" experience in the industry. I was flabbergasted, I must say.

yeah yeah, educational use blah blah -- but seriously, istockphoto stuff costs so little in the grand scheme of things, $200 worth of textbooks etc.... why not just have a mandatory istock subscription worth 30 bucks?

Anyway,thats by the by.... maybe thats why I have never really copied, because in many ways I just worked in isolation and what I think "looks cool" rather than what the industry is doing??
__________________
Téa Brennan
LinkArtist Multimedia - boutique web design, Perth
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 08-09-2008, 03:03 PM
heist heist is offline
Senior Member
AWIA Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 573
heist is on a distinguished road
Default

hrm. that cmdmedia rip looks too expertly done to be a rip...

the images that're re-used have a different font face, so it's like they had access to the source files.

are bam expanding to LDN ?
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 08-09-2008, 03:23 PM
cadmium's Avatar
cadmium cadmium is offline
AWIA Website Manager
AWIA Member Committee Site Admin
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Joondalup WA
Posts: 363
cadmium has disabled reputation
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by heist View Post
hrm. that cmdmedia rip looks too expertly done to be a rip...

the images that're re-used have a different font face, so it's like they had access to the source files.

are bam expanding to LDN ?
Until you look deeper and notice there is no identifying content (no contact, no our people, no news, no portfolio content).

No offence to Bam, but the design itself isn't that hard to replicate, so source files wouldn't be required.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 08-09-2008, 04:04 PM
nuthin nuthin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: .com.au
Age: 29
Posts: 469
nuthin is on a distinguished road
Default

I would agree it's definately a blatant rip. If you look deeper you will see that the domain was only registered in April this year, likely ripping the site around then too.

With these sort of people, I would sent a C&D and if I hadn't heard from anyone with 48 hours, I would go directly to there host who appears to be Fasthosts, a fairly big UK hosting firm. If they don't do anything, traceroute above them to find out who supplies there bandwidth and go to them.

But one of these actions should get the site taken down by anyone in there abuse department who has common sense.
__________________
LinkedIn: http://au.linkedin.com/pub/david-hobbs/3/206/823
Web: http://www.freelanceseo.com.au/
Leading from the front since 99'
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 08-09-2008, 04:49 PM
Cindy's Avatar
Cindy Cindy is offline
Senior Member
AWIA Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mandurah
Posts: 252
Cindy is on a distinguished road
Default

I'd turn it back in your favour:
"Our sites are so good that even other designers have to rip them off!"
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 08-09-2008, 04:50 PM
miles's Avatar
miles miles is offline
Administrator
AWIA Member Committee Site Admin
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mt Lawley, Western Australia
Posts: 1,347
miles has disabled reputation
Default

I did indeed find the cmdmedia website, and yes, we're now taking care of it. You may notice that they have already begun to remove large portions of the website.

As with all copyright related cases, it is important to take evidence first. This involved taking a copy of the entire website, and having at least two witnesses to call upon with the date and itme they saw the offence.

Best part now, is even if they remove it, we can still take legal action. The first two companies that did this to us ended up both settling with us before court (in one instance, we even had a court date set). Needless to say, we were paid for all of my time, our legal time, and damages.

Cheers

Miles.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 08-09-2008, 04:55 PM
nuthin nuthin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: .com.au
Age: 29
Posts: 469
nuthin is on a distinguished road
Default

Way to go! It's about time people start to take the Internet seriously when it comes to copyright issues. You steal, you lose. Good to hear.
__________________
LinkedIn: http://au.linkedin.com/pub/david-hobbs/3/206/823
Web: http://www.freelanceseo.com.au/
Leading from the front since 99'
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 07-10-2008, 04:00 PM
miles's Avatar
miles miles is offline
Administrator
AWIA Member Committee Site Admin
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mt Lawley, Western Australia
Posts: 1,347
miles has disabled reputation
Default

I particularly love this site too, which has just come to my attention;

http://www.bam5creative.com/profile.html

The text, images and domain name are all borrowed it seems...

Miles.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 07-10-2008, 04:59 PM
temp temp is offline
Senior Member
AWIA Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,469
temp is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by miles View Post
I particularly love this site too, which has just come to my attention;

http://www.bam5creative.com/profile.html

The text, images and domain name are all borrowed it seems...

Miles.
It's cool I'm on it

__________________
Pin
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +8. The time now is 02:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.